Check out my game TOSIOS: The Open-Source IO Shooter.

Hi everyone,

I've been working for a few months on a browser multiplayer shooter game: TOSIOS GitHub page.

0_1569237950425_968a12a2-009c-4c99-8aa5-009f5a2865a6-image.png

DEMO: https://tosios.online

Goals
I had 3 goals in mind when I developed this game:

1. Code my first multiplayer browser game.
  2. Make it open-source.
  3. Provide an easy way for anyone to deploy and modify it.

Game's rules
The game principles are fairly easy to grasp:

• Every player is positionned randomly on the map during the lobby.
  • When the game starts, each player must take down others.
  • There are some potions on the map that restore health.
  • The last one alive wins 🎉.

Movements

• Move: W A S D or ↑ ← ↓ →.
  • Aim: Mouse
  • Shoot: Left click or Space

Tech stack
The whole project is a monorepo using yarn workspaces and coded in TypeScript. It is composed of:

• client: A react application using PIXI.js
  • server: A colyseus (why would I post it here otherwise) and express.
  • common: A set of utils and constants used in both project.

You can either use the docker-compose file which uses an automatically published image from Docker Hub.

You can also build the docker image yourself using the Dockerfile.

Future
I play this game with friends regularly and we all have much fun (this is how the project started in my mind), and there are a lot of features that I'm developing or that I will develop:

• Mobile-mode (~50% complete)
  • Other potions/buffs
  • A 4th map
  • Better compatibility with Windows (the mv command doesn't work, I should use the move instead)

Please tell me what you guys think, and please don't hesitate to share this with friends or colleagues at work!